California Props Scoresheet

Californians solidly passed Props 2, 3, 9, and 12. That’s more expensive eggs and meat (and not just for California, but for everyone we sell to) and unnecessary funds for UCLA children’s hospitals. But the others are victim’s rights and the CalVeteran funding, so there’s a silver lining.

Californians solidly opposed Props 5, 6, 7, and 10. Those were rehab in lieu of imprisonment, many other changes to the criminal justice system, renewable energy, and alternative fuels. I’m pleasantly surprised that Californians opposed these in such great numbers. These are the types of things that “sound nice.”

There are still four Props too close to call: 1A, 4, 8, and 11. It looks like 1A, the L.A.-to S.F. high speed train will pass. As will Prop 8. It looks like parental notification before a minor’s abortion will not. And Prop 11, redistricting, is truly too close to call.

On Prop 8: I know most of you disagree with me about it. But could we have a moment of silence for those poor fools who were happily married or engaged yesterday and today are finding out that they don’t have squat? Prop 8 was much more personal than some silly high-speed train or hospital funding. It fundamentally changed rights for some Californians. They are hurting today. And I’m one of them.

~ by Gabriel Malor on November 5, 2008.

3 Responses to “California Props Scoresheet”

  1. Hey Gabe. Originally saw this post over at AoSHQ. Honestly didn’t know you were gay, but it’s nice to see your voice over there. I’ve been reading Ace’s site for a while now, and while he’s a great guy, I still quite can’t used to some of his commenters. Anyway, just wanted to pass along my sympathies. That this passed in CA was a shocker to me.

  2. Gabe:

    I’m commenting here because it seems more likely to be seen here than in the 300 or so comments on the AOS version of the post.

    Sorry to hear of your pain in this matter, and I hope you soon come to look at it as less of a loss than, say, the actual loss of the relationship. Small comfort, I know, but take it a step at a time.

    I believe that the populace as a whole (and certainly I, myself) view gay marriage in a much less inflammatory light than you’d think from seeing Prop 8 and similar things on the ballot.

    In fact, in CA, I believe it’s a direct reaction to the court jamming it down peoples’ throats. Perversely, the people with the sore throats are probably largely agnostic on the issue, and I doubt seriously that in CA or nationwide, you could really find a majority or even a large plurality who wanted to interpose themselves into such a debate.

    Yeah, I’m probably giving the country too much credit. But I do so to fit my narrative: Nobody whose opinion matters cares a whit about your orientation or your marital status.

    Nobody.

    Remember that, and look forward to a time (sooner than later, I hope) when the courts stay the hell out of these issues, allowing the electorate to stop being goaded into crass overreaction occasioned by judicial over-reach.

    Rgds,

    MP

  3. See also:
    http://meganmcardle.theatlantic.com/archives/2008/11/the_people_have_spoken.php

Comments are closed.

 
